ZIP

He was a little man
And his friends called him “Zip”.
I thought it was because he was small,
Or because he was constantly dodging cars.
But that wasn’t the case at all.
Wanting to be tall,
He had a peculiar habit of jumping up,
And coming down, almost without touching
the ground.
He bounced like he was on a trampoline,
Suddenly I would see his head,
And then not, then again in a different spot.
I thought maybe he was a zipper, up and down,
But I was wrong again. He was called Zip
because he would zip in and out of a crowd,
Keeping his sense of directions on track.
Once when he he missed his corner
He was too proud to admit he was lost,
And too frugal to pay the cost
Of a cab.
Zip became my friend, and we often talked as we walked,
About topics important to him. He asked,
“Was the world getting smaller or taller?”
He was losing his bounce,
And he worried he had gained an ounce.
“Not to worry,” I said.
“Your heart is getting bigger instead.
You might be small but you are making the world
A better place,
You don’t take up much space,
And you always have a smile on your face.”

I wish more people had a little zip when they walked,
And were happy when they talked.
Zip inspired me.
Now, he’s my best friend,
And I want to be more like him.
He will someday have a place in the sky.
I’ll call him the “Little Zipper.”

April 25, 2017

Leave a Reply

