Older

Another birthday, hip, hip, hooray!
I get to face another fine day.
A birthday cake I make for myself,
If I want to blow out candles
That have been hiding on the shelf.
I’ll be careful not to burn my house down
All the candles represent all I’ve found,
The truths about love and hate
My life I’ve denied and blaimed it on fate.
one candle for others I’ve hurt on the way
Another for loved ones, too many to say.
Candles for all the debts I need to pay.
A giant cake, with candles galore,
My heart is melting, and yet there is more.
Another birthday, and I’m all alone,
Wait! Is someone calling on the phone?
Someone’s knocking on my door,
It seems my life is not quite as bad,
I still have friends and I’m not so sad.
Another birthday to cheer and celebrate,
But I don’t want to leave it up to fate.
Tomorrow I’ll visit family and my friends,
Get out of my house and make amends.
Everything I have is more than I need
I’ll share with others and plant the seeds
Of love and hope.
Another birthday? one more way
To love others and make their day.
.

Leave a Reply

