FOR THE SECOND TIME

Three months ago I closed my mind,

Folded it into sections,

Packed it away forever.

I had given up, called it quits,

Knowing that I could not exist

On the meager portion of life

That was parceled out to me.

Parkinson’s Disease was strangling me,

Slowly but surely.

I was not able to walk without pain.

My driver’s license was rescinded.

Friends and relatives stayed away.

My source of writing had dried up.

My muse avoided me.

I still put on a happy face

But inside I was crying.

 

Two months ago I was encouraged

One more time to try medications

New to me though thousands of years old.

EDB

Not something I had wanted to use

Cannabis led to harsher drugs

Took away initiative and drive,

Brought death and destruction

And was illegal.

I was desperate to relieve pain.

Like a cautious mouse

I nibbled.

My thoughts clarified

I began to relax.

The severe muscle cramps disappeared

Walking and other exercises brought hope.

Side effects were positive.

I nibbled some more.

The sky didn’t fall, my life wasn’t over.

It was just beginning

For the second time.

 

4/21/2016

Dan Roberson

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

